This time last year, I was bumping Daytona, Ye, Kids See Ghosts, Everything is Love, and Redemption. New albums by top artists were being pumped out, and the steady release schedule honestly spoiled streamers a little.

This year, my favorite artists have been pretty quiet. Naturally, I’ll be more inclined to check out other new music that is releasing, and this week was a pretty big one. I added 38 songs to my library, the bulk coming from two albums and one EP. I haven’t gotten to dissect the new music yet, but let’s run down the new offerings released on June 21, 2019.

Singles: Nicki Minaj, Migos, Lil Baby/Future, and more

I added six singles this week, with new music from popular rappers and groups. So far, my Twitter timeline has been filled with chatter about “MEGATRON” by Nicki Minaj. The release breaks a down period for Minaj following the release of Queen last August.

Migos, who have releases two singles this year (“Position to Win” and “Pure Water”) are back with a third single, “Stripper Bowl” The Atlanta trio is likely building towards an album release soon, either Culture III or YRN 3.

Following his appearance on Drake’s “Money in the Grave,” Rick Ross leads a new single “Act a Fool” featuring Wale.

Lastly a couple more team-up songs: as Lil Baby tags Future for a feature on “Out the Mud” and Murda Beatz marries the energetic sounds of Sheck Wes and Lil Pump on “Shopping Spree.”

Albums/EPs: Lil Nas X, Gucci Mane, Pierre

Lil Nas X has been dominating Twitter, with over one million followers, and has been prepping fans for the release of his debut EP 7. This is the only new music I had a chance to check out so far, though I’ll need to listen more to form a strong opinion on it. Basically, Lil Nas X delivers versatile vocals across eight tracks on an EP that was at first confusingly but eventually fittingly labeled an alternative album. He teams up with Cardi B on the track “Rodeo,” and includes both versions of Old Town Road as two of the EP’s eight songs.

Gucci Mane released Delusions of Grandeur, an 18-track follow-up to 2018’s Evil Genius. The lead single, which came and went quietly, was “Love Thru the Computer” with Justin Bieber. The new tracks released today include features from Meek Mill, Anuel AA, Jeremih, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, Wiz Khalifia & Rick Ross, and Lil Uzi Vert & Young Dolph. Gucci has seemingly released a million albums, but there’s sure to be some solid tracks littered throughout the 18-song selection.

Lastly, producer-rapper and frequent Playboi Cari collaborator Pi’erre Bourne dropped the Life of Pi’erre 4. The 16 song tracklist doesn’t provide any features, unless they’re uncredited.

What are you listening to this week? Did I miss any new music? To join the conversation, follow B-Sak Rap Blog on Twitter.

Header Photo: Nicholas Hunt/Getty Images

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s